What do I need to know about e-visa

Before traveling to India, you need a visa; except you are a citizen of Nepal or Bhutan whose citizens do not require a visa.

You can choose to apply for a regular visa or an e- visa. Citizens from Japan and South Korea can obtain a visa when they arrive in India but this is not applicable to other countries, including U.S citizens. An e -visa is easy to get and is the best choice for tourists.

There are three types of e-visas according to their validity: one month visa, one year visa and five-year visa. With the one month visa, you can only enter into the country twice but the others permit multiple entries depending on the length of your visit. You can get a good discount on the one month visa from April to June.

The e-visa is classified into five categories:

  • e-Tourist Visa
  • e-Business Visa
  • e-Medical Visa
  • e -Medical Attendant Visa
  • e-Conference Visa

How to obtain an E-Visa

You must apply for your e -visa at least four days before your trip. If it’s a one-month e- visa, you must apply thirty days before your scheduled trip. 

You will be asked to upload a recent passport photograph and other travel documents as well.

Afterward, you can pay online with your credit card. You’ll get an ETA and application ID in your email three days after your payment has been made. 

When you arrive in India, you’ll have to show a copy of your ETA to the immigration officer who will stamp your passport and printed copy of your e-visa. Your biometric data will also be checked before entry.

Make sure you have a return ticket and enough money before you travel.

How much is an E – Visa

The cost of a visa is usually determined by the relationship between India and other counties. There are countries whose citizens don’t have to pay any visa fee while there are others who pay a lesser amount for the visas.

General fees for the E – Visas

  • The one-month e-Tourist Visa costs $10. This amount is applicable only from April to June; it costs $25 for the rest of the year.
  • The one-year e-Tourist Visa costs $40
  • The five-year e-Tourist Visa costs $80

You are also required to pay a bank charge of 2.5% in addition to the visa fee. E-Business visas last for one year and allow for multiple entries, the e-medial visas last for two months and the e-conference visa lasts for one month and permits only one entry. These visas can’t be converted or extended.

Note that you will not be permitted to stay in India longer than 90 days, irrespective of the duration of your visa. If you have an e-business visa, you can stay for 180 days. Only citizens of Japan, the UK, the US, and Canada are allowed to stay for up to six months with an e – tourist visa.

Airports in India that accept E – Visas

The following international airports accept E – Visas: 

  • Ahmedabad
  • Amritsar
  • Bagdogra 
  • Bangalore
  • Bhubaneshwar
  • Calicut
  • Chennai
  • Chandigarh
  • Kochi
  • Coimbatore
  • Delhi
  • Gaya
  • Goa
  • Guwahati
  • Hyderabad
  • Jaipur
  • Kolkata
  • Lucknow
  • Madurai
  • Mangalore
  • Mumbai
  • Nagpur
  • Port Blair
  • Pune
  • Tiruchirapalli
  • Trivandrum
  • Varanasi and;
  • Vishakhapatnam.

You can also present your e – visa at these designated seaports: Kochi, Goa, Mangalore, Mumbai, and Chennai.

In addition to this, special immigration offices have been assigned to help medical tourists at Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Bangalore, and Hyderabad airports. You are free to depart with your e – visa through any of these immigration points.

Restricted Areas

You will not be allowed to enter some areas with your e – visa like Arunachal Pradesh. If you wish to visit this area, some special Protected Area Permit (PAP) or Inner Line Permit (ILP) will be needed according to the area.

You can easily get this when you arrive in India. If you are using the services of a travel agency, they can apply for the permits on your behalf. You can present it to the immigration officers of that particular area when you visit.

Make sure to do some research on restricted areas and their requirements before visiting.