Can I Get An E-Visa India On Arrival?

India is a very beautiful country and has always attracted tourists for many years. It has magnificent artifacts and monuments. Also, it’s the perfect place for a vacation with varieties of delicious food.

The government of India has decided to make it easier for visitors who wish to travel to the country. Initially, visitors had to go to the Indian embassy to apply for a visa but the visa application process has been changed.

In 2015, the Indian government introduced the e-visa. The e-visa makes it possible for visitors to apply for their visas online without going through the long processes of the embassy.

The entire application process is done online using the official government website or a private website. You can also use the services of a travel agency if you don’t want to go through the process by yourself.

The e-visa India can be obtained before arrival or after arrival. Presently, there are about 75 countries that can apply for the Indian Tourist visa on Arrival. As time goes on more countries will be added to the list.

In India, nine airports will allow you to enter the country without a visa. Any other airport will refuse entry if you don’t have a visa. However, it is extremely important to apply for the Tourist visa on Arrival at least 5days before getting to India.  

Apply for Indian Tourist Visa on Arrival.

This e-visa application must be concluded between 5 – 30 days before arrival in India. You can get more details about the process of the government’s official website.

To apply, go to the official website of India’s Tourism Department and apply. You will be given a form to fill. When you are done with filling the form and answering all the questions, upload all the required documents including the first page of your international passport.

You can pay for the e-visa with your credit or debit card. The e-visa fee is $60. After payment has been verified, a copy of the e-visa will be sent to your email.

The essence of sending the visa to your email is to enable easy retrieval in case you lose the printed copy. Always keep both copies safe.

When you arrive in India, you will be asked to show a copy of the e-visa to the customs officers. This is why you need to carry a printed copy of your e-visa with you as you travel. The following airports will accept the Tourist visa on Arrival:

  • Delhi
  • Kolkata
  • Chennai
  • Mumbai
  • Kochi
  • Goa
  • Bengaluru
  • Hyderabad
  • Thiruvananthapuram.

Who is eligible for the Electronic Tourist Visa (Visa on arrival) for India?

The following countries are eligible for the e-visa on Arrival:

  • Anguilla
  • Antigua & Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Brazil
  • Cambodia
  • Canada
  • Cayman Island,
  • Chile
  • Cook Islands
  • Costa Rica,
  • Djibouti
  • Dominica
  • The Dominican Republic,
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Estonia
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Indonesia
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Laos
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Montenegro
  • Montserrat
  • Myanmar
  • Nauru
  • New Zealand,
  • Nicaragua
  • Niue Island
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Palau
  • Palestine
  • Papua New Guinea,
  • Paraguay
  • Philippines
  • Republic of Korea
  • Republic of Macedonia
  • Russia
  • Saint Christopher and Nevis
  • Samoa
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • Sri Lanka
  • Thailand
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • UAE
  • Ukraine
  • USA
  • Vanuatu
  • Vatican City-Holy See,
  • Vietnam.

This list is not permanent and arrangements are being made to add more countries to the list.

The fee for this visa is $60. This payment is nonrefundable and must be made three days before traveling to India.

This e-visa on Arrival lasts for one month from the date it was issued. It cannot be extended and it is non – convertible.

If you are visiting India for tourism or to visit family and friends or to get medical treatment or for business reasons, you are eligible for this e-visa. You must be a citizen of the 75 countries that are eligible or else your application will be denied.